Strava. Wake Better. 40 | 80

Today, I woke up and ran with 46,000 of my closest friends.

Social Media is powerful. Like all powerful things, it can tip positive or negative. Fitspo or Fitness Inspiration and Challenges prove change does happen and a huge percentage of the 1st world population succeeds when there is an external expectation, 2nd posting each day or sharing their meals is their accountability.

I changed my routine in 2015 and changed my life. July 9, 2015 I implemented Hal Elrod‘s Miracle Morning system and the change was rapid. I embraced his online Facebook group and offered my time as an accountability partner. I synced with 4 members and we created an accountability group to bounce ideas, schedule wake up calls and check in for life. It was fantastic and pulled me from a deep depression.

I worked this new routine for over 100 days and it became my life. Then….things happened, and I slept in and opted for snuggling and let the routine slide. I tricked myself in the beginning into thinking this is just for a day, two, ten, and I will pick it back up. But, I didn’t. I inspired others to take on this change/challenge and I was a fraud – halfway living my truth.

Then, the Universe – timely, as always- gifted me an opportunity to wipe the slate clean. To start anew. Ever motivation Jeffirs stopped in the store one day and in passing asked about my running. I confessed that it wasn’t happening, that my routine didn’t exist. Saying this aloud, this confession, prompted me to lace up 2 days later. It felt good and rough and invigorating and awful all at the same time. The most important feeling I experienced was aliveness. I am not a fast runner, I am not the best at stride or pace or breathing, and though it is challenging, there is no doubt a life birthed through running outdoors that does not happen in anything else. I realized I missed it.

The Strava app and lululemon teamed up and I knew this was my opportunity to start fresh. I signed on for the 40 | 80 challenge and set my alarm. This morning, I laced up and bundled up (36 degrees outside!), logged into the app, tuned into a podcast and started a new chapter.  #yourgoalsareshowing

Strava lululemon 40|80 Challenge

Leave a Reply

