Better Humans. 

Happy Birthday, Dr. King! 

“It is not our differences that divide us. It is our inability to accept and celebrate those differences.” – Audre Lorde 

I had the privilege of participating in a community kirtan, a Bhakti yoga experience, at Wild Lotus Yoga in New Orleans last Friday night with Sean Johnson and The Wild Lotus Band. Few things to note: Wild Lotus, Sean, Gwendolyn, Colleen, Vera, Kristy, Mitchel and soul schoolers are my tribe. It’s important to have a tribe. Wild Lotus Yoga is a well of devotion, love and hope, and when I need a life boost, a recharge, a ‘hey, we welcome you’ feeling, I know I can go there. So, going to kirtan at the studio with Sean and the band was like a sweet family reunion. 

My eyes filled with tears, my heart burst with joy and my body relaxed during the first OM- I knew it was going to be a good night. About 100 friends, strangers, yogis, professionals all gathered in the upper 2nd floor studio with one heart, one OM. 

I’m living in the possibility of a life where we celebrate one another, lift each other up and stand for greatness. 

Leave a Reply

