Round 65. Bookshelf Edit. 

There was a time when I believed I would never part with a book. I kept books for the sake of keeping old friends around, comforting and fond memories. I have a handful of textbooks that made the cut and have been with me for quite some time. 

This Louisiana history book is one of the select few. I chucked a bit when I picked it for the edit because texts are in a sense extremely outdated. To think that this book was necessary to the point of keeping for several years – I don’t teach history so that’s not a reason to keep it- was quite naive of me.  I remember this class and it was somewhat controversial and extremely interesting; although, neither contribute to the need of keeping the text. 

As I move through this project, I’m uncovering that I keep things for a multitude of reasons. One reason is to remind myself of the existence of something in my life, another is proof that what existed had meaning and another reason is hope. There are items I have that have weathered the years because there is hope within or hope for a desired outcome. This text is exsitence of my education, my interests, my connection {and lack } to the history of my state, and an underlying notion that I have the book, therefore the class was important. 

So, today I edit this book from my shelf (and a few others) to create space for more life, more learnings and less things. 

Leave a Reply

